Repeal of Policy on Academic Procedure and Credit (Bonine #495)

Date of Notice: 
Mon, 05/11/2015
Legislation, Resolution, or Policy Adoption: 
Policy Repeal
Current Status: 
Approved on 05/20/15

Section I

1.1 WHEREAS, the transition to a new Board of Trustees for the University under the law popularly known as Senate Bill 270 of 2013 removed the State Board of Higher Education as a future source of policies for the University of Oregon; and

1.2 WHEREAS, a number of policies adopted by the State Board of Higher Education in the past (including Internal Management Directives and some unnumbered, miscellaneous policies) involve academic matters as commonly understood in higher education; and

1.3 WHEREAS, Section 170 (8) of Senate Bill 270 provides:

(8) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the lawfully adopted rules and policies of the State Board of Higher Education pertaining to a university with a governing board that are in effect on the effective date of this 2013 Act continue in effect until lawfully superseded or repealed by the standards or policies of the governing board or the university [emphasis added]; and

1.4 WHEREAS, linkages and comments are provided on the Senate’s “Master List” of rules and policies, including unique, easy-to-track identifying numbers (see,

1.5 WHEREAS, State Board unnumbered policy titled “Academic Procedure and Credit” approved by the OSBHE as part of the catalog copy for the System institutions on September 6, 1932 is duplicative and incorrect;

1.6 WHEREAS the UO catalog offers better definitions—more complex and updated—of the same terms;

1.7 WHEREAS those issues are under the purview of the UO Committee on Courses, and thus already covered by current policy and procedures;

Section II

2.1 BE IT HEREBY MOVED that the following unnumbered former Board policy (found at be repealed as a University of Oregon policy:

495       no number    Board Policy     Academic Procedure and Credit

Financial Impact: 
Cost Neutral

Monique Balbuena (Associate Professor, Honors College), Chair of the Curriculum & Program Matters Workgroup